The CCWWP holds bi-annual writing competitions in the same academic years as the CCWWP conference. Entries will be accepted for previously unpublished work in each of the following categories:

Poetry: 50 line limit
Fiction: 3,500 word limit
Nonfiction: 3,500 word limit



Entries should be ORIGINAL AND UNPUBLISHED AND NOT SUBMITTED ELSEWHERE to a maximum of 3500 words (or 50 lines for poetry). Entries will be judged blind. Please do not put your name anywhere on your entry or in the filename for the file that you upload to the contest. If you are a member of the CCWWP, there is no entry-fee for each entry that you submit to the contest. You may only submit to each contest a maximum of one time, but you may enter each of the competition categories. We will accept entries in MS Word Document or PDF formats. Please use standard margins, 12-point font and double spacing.

Winners will be selected by a panel of professionals from the publishing  and writing industry.                 


Awards are open to all CCWWP members. For more information about how to become a CCWWP member click here.


The deadline for submissions is May 30, 2016. Submissions should be entered electronically through the Competition Entry Form.

The award winner will be announced in June through the CCWWP social media sites and publicly at the Canadian Writers’ Summit in Toronto (June 15-19).

Accepted Document Types: pdf, doc, docx

Previous Recipients



Daniel Scott Tysdal for “The Taliban Are the Most Famous Poets in America”

Daniel Scott Tysdal is the ReLit Award-winning author of two books of poetry. His poetry textbook, The Writing Moment: A Practical Guide to Creating Poems, was recently published by Oxford University Press. He teaches creative writing and English literature at the University of Toronto Scarborough.


AA Montagu for “Bushwife”

AA Montagu is a long-term ghostwriter and editor for some well-known and best-selling public personalities, and has only just started submitting some of her own work.