In keeping with Robert Kroetsch’s legacy in Canadian letters and teaching, this annual award will recognize excellence in innovative pedagogy and teaching practice. An award of $1000 will be presented to the creative writing teacher who can outline an exceptional example of creative writing theory and practice (including a report on implementation and outcomes) in a 750 word essay. The competition is open to all CCWWP members.

Robert Kroetsch

(June 26, 1927 – June 21, 2011) Canadian novelist, poet, and essayist. In his fiction and critical essays, he was an influential figure in Canada in introducing ideas about postmodernism. Linda Hutcheon calls Robert Kroetsch “Mr. Canadian Postmodern.” He began his academic career at Binghamton University. After returning to Canada in the mid-1970s he taught for many years at the University of Manitoba. His works include Completed Field Notes, The Studhorse Man, What the Crow Said, The Hornbooks of Rita K, and Too Bad.


Applications are invited from individuals in a position to teach creative writing at any level (post-secondary, high school, community, etc). The award will be for demonstrated innovation(s) in areas including pedagogy, method, design, curriculum, assessment, technologies, learning techniques, and outcomes.


  • * Classroom and course innovations including new ways of teaching that promotes student creativity and empowerment

  • *  Leadership in innovation that forges new paths and inspires others

  • *  Championing new visions of teaching excellence including professional contributions to discussions, presentations, publications, and other modes for sharing innovation

  • *  Innovative methods of bringing new models, theories, and forms of writing into the classroom setting

  • *  Examples of bring classrooms and community together for creative expression and collaborative work

  • *  Examples of classroom practice that contributes to social justice and equity in communities


The submission should be a maximum of 750 words and clearly describe:

  • the goals of the teaching innovation

  • a brief description of the innovation

  • the underlying philosophy and strategies used

  • the context in which the innovation was implemented

  • the outcomes of the innovative class work


Awards are open to all CCWWP members who are instructors teaching creative writing regardless of discipline, level, or term of appointment. Learn how to become a CCWWP member.


The deadline for submissions is May 11, 2018. Submissions should be sent electronically to:

The award winner will be announced at the CCWWP Conference at the Canadian Writers’ Summit, Harbourfront Toronto, June 14-17


Previous Recipients


Camille Deslauriers / Robert McGill
Read more about these winning projects


Tanis MacDonald


Erina Harris


Nancy Holmes: read more about Nancy and her project


Derek Beaulieu: read more about Derek and his projects.